The Large Latin American Millimeter Array (LLAMA) is a joint scientific and technological project of Argentina and Brazil. The project is being financed by Fundação de Amparo a Pesquisa do Estado de São Paulo (FAPESP) from Brazil and Secretaría de Articulación Científico Tecnológica do Ministerio de Educación, Cultura, Ciencia y Tecnología of Argentina. At this moment of construction and development, LLAMA is governed by an agreement between the Government of Argentina, FAPESP and the University of São Paulo (USP).

The executive institutions are the Institute of Astronomy, Geophysics and Atmospheric Sciences of USP (IAG/USP) and the Argentine Institute of Radioastronomy of the National Council of Scientific and Technical Research (IAR/CONICET).


Governance is carried out by a Steering Committee composed of 12 members - six from Argentina and six from Brazil. In addition, there is a Scientific Committee that includes international advisors.

Collaboration Network

Although the executive institutions are IAG / USP and IAR / CONICET, LLAMA is a project made up of several interinstitutional collaborations. Development involves not only partners from Brazil and Argentina, but also from Chile and the Netherlands. The list below shows the main institutions where people involved with LLAMA develop their activities.


Instituto Argentino de Radioastronomía del Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Científicas y Técnicas (IAR/CONICET, Argentina);

Instituto de Astronomía y Física del Espacio (IAFE/CONICET-UBA).


* Instituto de Astronomia, Geofísica e Ciências Atmosféricas da USP (IAG/USP);

Departamento de Engenharia de Sistemas Eletrônicos da Escola Politécnica da Universidade de São Paulo (Poli/USP, São Paulo, SP);

Divisão de Astrofísica do Instituto Nacional de Ciências Espaciais (DIDAS/INPE/MCTIC, São José dos Campos, SP);

Centro de Centro de Radioastronomia e Astrofísica Mackenzie da Universidade Presbiteriana Mackenzie (CRAAM/Mackenzie, São Paulo, SP);

Museu de Astronomia e Ciências Afins (MAST/MCTIC, Rio de Janeiro, RJ).


Departamento de Astronomía - Universidad de Concepcíon;

Departamento de Astronomía - Universidad de Chile.


Radboud University Nijmegen;

Universiteit Leiden;

Netherlands Research School for Astronomy (NOVA).